Tallaght (támh Leacht – Plague burial Place) is located at the foot of the Dublin Mountains on the the Dublin -Blessington road. in Pre-historic times, it is reputed to have been the burial place of over 9,000 people who died of a plague.These people were Parthalonians , followers of the Greek Parthalon.
Tallaght is recorded in early Irish written history as the location of a monastery founded in 769 A.D. by St Maelruain.Three celebrated manuscripts, The Martyrology of Óengus, the Martyrology of Tallaght and the stowe Missal were written at the monastery of Tallaght. St Melruain’s church of Ireland Parish church stands on the site of a medievil church which in turn occupied the site of the original monastery.
In 1324, the Archbishop of Dublin erected a manorial palace called Tallaght Castle as a summer residence on the site now ocupied by the Dominican Priory. Only one tower of the Archbishop’s Palace survives to this date which is incorporated within the existing structure.
Tallaght had a number of castles, including Kilnamanagh Castle, Bancroft Castle, Tymon Castle, all of which are gone now.
The village of Tallaght is approximately 12 km from Dublin City, served by a tram line in the early days of 1888 and now more recently by the Luas red line which terminates at the Square Shopping Centre, Tallaght Hospital and belgard square.Tallaght has always been a place of fantastic culture and here we find lots of attractions such as state of the art Library, and Civic Theatre ,Cinemas, and Hotels are plenty along with Night Clubs and Bars.
Tallaght is a thriving centre of Business and boasts its own University and Sports Stadium home to Shamrock Rovers F.C.